Latest Development
NVIDIA, OpenAI and SB Energy have unveiled plans for an 8 IT-gigawatt AI data center campus at the PORTS-Pike Technology Campus in Pike County, Ohio — one of the largest AI infrastructure builds announced globally. SB Energy, backed by SoftBank, will build, own and operate the facility under a 20-year lease to OpenAI, while NVIDIA has secured exclusive rights to host its compute on the site. The campus spans private and federal land, including ground formerly used for uranium enrichment, and is being developed in partnership with AEP Ohio, the U.S. Department of Energy and the Department of Commerce.
Why It Matters Commercially
The first 800MW phase is expected online in 2028, but reaching the full 8 IT-GW target depends on new power generation — including natural gas plants — that hasn’t yet been built. That gap is the opportunity: power generation developers, grid contractors, natural gas suppliers, and construction firms all sit upstream of a project OpenAI says will create 35,000 construction jobs through 2032. For financiers and advisers, the deal’s scale and complexity — spanning federal land, utility partnerships, and multi-phase buildout — signals a long runway of financing, engineering and regulatory work still to be tendered.
Read the news: https://www.theprojectherald.com/nvidia-openai-sb-energy-ohio-ai-data-centre-project/
Project Details
Project TypeAI Data Center Campus (Digital Infrastructure)
Project OwnerSB Energy
Project SponsorNVIDIA, OpenAI, SoftBank Group
Main ContractorNot yet disclosed
Project DeveloperSB Energy
Financing InstitutionNot disclosed as lenders — Goldman Sachs and JPMorgan advised SB Energy; Morgan Stanley advised NVIDIA on the transaction
Start DateNot disclosed (announced August 17, 2026)
Expected CompletionPhased rollout beginning 2028; full 8 IT-GW target completion date not disclosed
Current PhaseLand, power and shell (LPS) capacity secured; first 800MW phase expected online 2028, contingent on new power generation buildout for later phases
Funding StatusPartial
Key Issues / Risks
Later capacity phases depend on new power generation (including natural gas plants) not yet built. Deal structure — NVIDIA financing its own customer's infrastructure — has drawn scrutiny over "circular" AI financing risk and potential systemic exposure. Community benefit fund figures vary across sources ($80m–$160m) and require verification. Site includes former federal uranium enrichment land, which may carry additional environmental/regulatory review.
What Happens Next
Initial 4.25 IT-GW phase begins deployment in 2028, on partially existing AEP Ohio grid infrastructure; later phases require new power generation, including natural gas plants, to reach the full 8 IT-GW target.
Commercial Opportunity
A gigawatt-scale AI data center campus of this size creates a major buildout pipeline for grid infrastructure, power generation, construction and data center equipment suppliers — OpenAI projects 35,000 construction jobs through 2032 and 2,500 permanent operating roles.
Stakeholder Intelligence
Key Organizations / Companies InvolvedNVIDIA, OpenAI, SB Energy, SoftBank Group, AEP Ohio, U.S. Department of Energy, U.S. Department of Commerce, Goldman Sachs (adviser), JPMorgan (adviser), Morgan Stanley (adviser)
Capital & Financing Intelligence
Funding / Amount CommittedUSD $5.7 billion (confirmed: $1.5bn NVIDIA investment in SB Energy + $4.2bn AEP Ohio grid investment)
Funding SourceNVIDIA direct equity investment; SoftBank Group / SB Energy capital; AEP Ohio grid infrastructure investment
Funding DateAugust 17, 2026
Procurement & Contract Outlook
Expected Next MilestoneFirst 800MW phase online (2028)
Commercial Opportunity Intelligence
Financing / Capital OpportunityNVIDIA's $1.5bn direct investment in SB Energy, plus its credit support for land, power and shell capacity, signals chipmakers moving upstream into infrastructure financing to guarantee compute demand. The $4.2bn AEP Ohio grid investment opens a parallel opportunity for utilities and grid infrastructure financiers. Advisory roles already claimed by Goldman Sachs, JPMorgan and Morgan Stanley — downstream opportunity likely in construction financing, natural gas generation financing for later phases, and regional infrastructure bonds.
Potential BeneficiariesPower Generation, Grid Infrastructure, Construction, Data Center Equipment, Natural Gas
Opportunity SignalOne of the largest AI infrastructure campuses announced globally — 8 IT-GW total capacity, built on private and former federal (uranium enrichment) land, developed with AEP Ohio, US DOE and US Department of Commerce.
Commercial ReadinessVery Early
Further Reading & External Sources
Historical Intelligence
2026-08-17NVIDIA, OpenAI and SB Energy announce PORTS-Pike Technology Campus, Pike County, OhioNVIDIA NewsroomSource → Source & Verification Trail
Last VerifiedAugust 2026
Source(s)NVIDIA Newsroom; OpenAI; Axios — August 17, 2026
Source DateAugust 17, 2026